• 2 years ago
Categories: News

Silicon Valley engineer, SC justice, ex-COA chair, DBP president are Natatanging Cagayano 2018 awardees

Natatanging Cagayano 2018 Awardees, from left to right: Ex-COA chair Grace Pulido Tan (DZRH photo), DBP President and CEO Cecilia Cayosa-Borromeo (Facebook photo), Silicon Valley engineer Dado Banatao (Photo by Paul Lopez), and SC Associate Justice Jose Mendoza (SC file photo).

TUGUEGARAO CITY, Philippines – This year’s awardees for Natatanging Cagayano 2018 are composed of a Silicon Valley engineer, a justice of the Supreme Court, a former chairman of the Commission on Audit (COA), and the president of Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP).

The Cagayan provincial government on Friday, June 22, revealed the awardees during a press conference in Tuguegarao.

The Natatanging Cagayano award is part of Aggao Nac Cagayan’s Dangal ng Lahing Cagayano, an annual search for notable Cagayanos who have “made an impact in the national or international field.”

Engineer Diosdado “Dado” Banatao led the roll of awardees for this year. He is the only Filipino major player in Silicon Valley.

Banatao is known for his rags to riches story. He was born and raised in Barangay Malabbac in Iguig, Cagayan. He finished his secondary education in Ateneo de Tuguegarao (now University of St. Louis).

Now, he is one of the leading technopreneurs in the field of computer science and engineering worldwide.

Apart from his success in the industry, he also engages in charities and philanthrophic works across the country.

DBP President Cecilia Cayosa-Borromeo will also be awarded for her dedication in development banking.

Cayosa-Borromeo was born in Pamplona town. She finished her bachelor’s degree in the University of rhe the Philippines, and masters De La Salle University (DLSU).

Referred as an “exceptional legal luminary,” SC Associate Justice Jose Mendoza is the third awardee for Natatanging Cagayano 2018. He has roots from Alcala town.

Before his appointment as SC justice, Mendoza became a presiding judge of the Regional Trial Court in Santa Cruz, Laguna, and an associate justice of the Court of Appeals.

The fourth and last awardee is former COA chair Grace Pulido-Tan of Sanchez Mira town.

Pulido also became a Finance undersecretary under the presidency of Benigno Aquino III. Now, she is a member of the board of directors of Asia United Bank (AUB) Corporation.

The awarding ceremony was set on June 29 at the Cagayan Sports Complex Coliseum.


Raymon Dullana: Raymon Dullana is The Northern Forum's news contributor and former editor in chief. He also works as correspondent for Rappler.com.