Home Community Metrobank Foundation honors ‘outstanding’ cops in PH

Metrobank Foundation honors ‘outstanding’ cops in PH

8 min read
Comments Off on Metrobank Foundation honors ‘outstanding’ cops in PH

This is a press release from Metrobank Foundation, Inc.

MANILA, Philippines- The Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI), together with the Rotary Club of New Manila East (RCNME) and the Philippine Savings Bank (PSBank), once again awarded the Country’s Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) for 2016.

Composed of four police-commissioned officers, and six non-commissioned officers, the awardees join the rank of 128 police officers who have been honored by the foundation since 2002.

Said awardees will be conferred with gold medallions, trophies, and cash prize amounting to PhP500,000 each.

Police Commissioned Officers awardees are: Police Chief Inspector Ryan Lopez Manongdo of Pozorrubio Municipal Police Station (Pozorrubio, Pangasinan); Police Superintendent Jemuel Felongco Siason of Sultan Kudarat Police Provincial Office (Tacurong City, Sultan Kudarat); Police Senior Superintendent Susan Rabano Jalla of PNP Crime Laboratory (Camp Crame, Quezon City); and Police Superintendent Mario Navarro Rariza, Jr. of Police Community Relations Group (Camp Crame, Quezon City). On the other hand, Police Non-Commissioned Officers awardees are: Police Officer 2 Fatima Peñones Ibias-Lanuza of Minalabac Municipal Police Station (Minalabac, Camarines Sur); Police Officer 3 Nida Lachica Gregas of Aklan Provincial Police Office (Numancia, Aklan); Senior Police Officer 1 Mhay Mayuyo Rubio of Bataan Police Provincial Office (Balanga City, Bataan); Senior Police Officer 2 Jeffrey Bayotlang Ojao of Cabadbaran Police Station 5 (Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte); Senior Police Officer 3 Hamidhan Bibio Tebbeng of PNP Anti-Kidnapping Group Mindanao Field Unit (Camp Gen Eduardo Batalla, Zamboanga City); and Senior Police Officer 3 Ezrael Domingo Lantingan of Alabel Municipal Station (Alabel, Saranggani Province).

“The previous year has been a tough year for the PNP. Forty four (44) members of the special action force were lost and several others wounded during the high-risk mission in Mamasapano. Although grieving, they still gave honor to those fallen men as they preserved in their fight against crime and lawlessness. This is why we at Metrobank and Metrobank Foundation together with Rotary Club of New Manila East and PSBank, have taken it upon ourselves to honor and recognize the excellent men and women in our police force who relentlessly serve the country and people, through the annual search for the COPS,” MBFI president Aniceto Sobrepeña said.

The judging process included documents review by the preliminary board of judges and panel interviews. Through the interview, their attitudes, accomplishments, awareness of current issues and responsible citizenship were evaluated.

The judges who chose this year’s winners was chaired by Senator Cynthia Villar and co-chaired by Court of Appeals senior associate justice Magdangal De Leon.

The other members of the board were: National Police Commission vice chairman and executive officer Atty. Rogelio Casurao; Quezon City vice mayor Maria Josefina “Joy” Belmonte-Alimurung; Robinsons Retail Holdings, Inc. president and chief operating officer Robina Gokongwei-Pe; Rappler editor-at-large Maria Teresa “Marites” Vitug; and Diocese of Pasig Bishop Mylo Hubert Vergara.

“This is an enriching experience for me because it was the first time that I was able to encounter this kind of judging process and was inspired to the stories of the police men and women who reached this milestone in their life. It is truly a learning experience for me. It has also opened my eyes to the priorities of the COPS, also their drive for integrity, and their passion for public service,” Senator Villar said.

The members of the preliminary board of judges were Commission on Human Rights commissioner Gwendolyn Pimentel-Gana; National Police Commission commissioner Constancia P. de Guzman; Civil Service Commission director IV and head Dr. Ma. Luisa Salonga-Agamata, Bombo Radyo Philippines network news director Elmar Acol; DZRH Lingkod Bayan host Milky Rigonan; CNN Philippines host Atty. Karen Olivia Jimeno-McBride; Rotary International District 3780 past district governor Danilo Espinosa; Rotary International District 3810 past district governor Francisco Atayde; and Asia Foundation deputy country representative Ma. Isabel Buenaobra.

The awardees will be presented together with the 2016 awardees of the SOT (Search for Outstanding Teachers) and TOPS (The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers), dubbed collectively as “Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos” in a formal awarding ceremony on September 12, 2016 as one of the highlights of Metrobank’s 54th anniversary celebration.

Now on its 14th year, COPS honors gallant men and women in the police force who are able to work with the community to prevent and solve crime. All previous COPS awardees are now members of the COPS alumni organization named “Police Officers Responsible for Organizing, Transforming, Empowering Communities” or PROTECT. TNF

Load More Related Articles
Load More In Community
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Here’s the schedule of activities for the SPUP General Alumni Homecoming

Related …