Home #LawinPH Power restored in 94% of Lawin-hit areas

Power restored in 94% of Lawin-hit areas

4 min read

TUGUEGARAO CITY, Philippines- The National Electrification Administration (NEA) said it has completed 94% in the power restoration in the areas hit by super typhoon Lawin last month.

In a report, NEA said only Cagayan (82.48% complete), Kalinga-Apayao (79% completed), Abra (87% completed) and Isabela (78% complete) are still undergoing rehabilitation “due to inaccessible roads and uneven terrain.”

As of Monday, November 21, about 94,000 households are yet to have power in said provinces.

NEA said the rehabilitation of road networks is “necessary” for faster rehabilitation of energy distribution facilities.

Meanwhile. Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi praised the power sector, particularly the different electric cooperatives from around the country, for their “selfless” in the power restoration efforts in the affected areas.

“In behalf of the entire energy family, my sincerest appreciation and gratitude to all the linemen and staff who braved the storm to ensure that electricity will be accessible again to the affected areas of Lawin,” Cusi said.

Cusi said the efforts of 45 electric cooperatives and power companies “are true to the spirit of bayanihan (unity).”

He also lauded the heroism of 30-year-old Jomar Betonio of Southern Leyte Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SOLECO), who died of electrocution while repairing an electric post in Cagayan.

But he emphasized that linemen should strictly follow safety standards and precautionary measures to avoid accidents.

The following electric cooperatives and power companies helped in the power restoration: Abra Electric Cooperative, Angeles Electric Corporation, Batangas I & II Electric Cooperatives, Benguet Electric Cooperative, Cabanatuan Electric Corporation, Cagayan I Electric Cooperative, Camarines Norte Electric Cooperative, Camarines Sur II Electric Cooperative, Central Pangasinan Electric Cooperative, Dagupan Electric Corporation, Davao Light & Power Company, First Laguna Electric Cooperative, Ifugao Electric Cooperative, Ilocos Norte Electric Cooperative, Ilocos Sur Electric Cooperative, Isabela I & II Electric Cooperatives, Kalinga-Apayao Electric Cooperative, Leyte III Electric Cooperative, Manila Electric Company, National Grid Corp. of the Philippines, Nueva Ecija I Electric Cooperative, Nueva Ecija II Electric Cooperative -Areas 1 & 2, Pampanga I, II, & III Electric Cooperatives, Pampanga Rural Electric Service Cooperative, Pangasinan I & III Electric Cooperatives, Peninsula Electric Cooperative, Quezon I Electric Cooperative, Quirino Electric Cooperative, San Fernando Electric Light & Power Company, Sorsogon II Electric Cooperative, Subic Power Corporation, Tarlac Electric Incorporated, Tarlac I & II Electric Cooperatives, Visayan Electric Company Incorporated and Zambales I & II Electric Cooperatives. –Northernforum.net

Load More Related Articles
Load More In #LawinPH

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Number of Cagayan Valley cops facing human rights violation decreases

TUGUEGARAO CITY, Philippines- The Philippine National Police Cagayan Valley regional unit …