Home News Cagayan Valley How Cagayan Valley lawmakers voted on death penalty bill

How Cagayan Valley lawmakers voted on death penalty bill

2 min read

TUGUEGARAO CITY, Philippines- Only two district representatives in Cagayan Valley region has voted against the reimposition of death penalty in the Philippines.

Of the 10 congressmen in the region, Cagayan Second District Rep. Aline Alfonso-Vargas and Isabela Fourth District Rep. Maria Lourdes Aggabao voted the controversial measure on Tuesday, March 7.

Those who cast affirmative votes were Rep. Randolph Ting (Cagayan Third District), Rep. Rodolfo Albano III (Isabela First District), Rep. Ana Christina Go (Isabela 2nd District), Napoleon Dy (Isabela Third District), Maria Luisa Cuaresma (Nueva Vizcaya Lone District) and Dakila Cua (Quirino Lone District).

Cong. Ting had earlier confirmed to Forum that he is going to vote in favor of the bill, filed in the Congress as House Bill 4727.
Meanwhile, Rep. Ramon Nolasco of the First District of Cagayan and Rep. Henedina Abad of the lone district Batanes were absent during the voting.

Earlier, House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez threatened to remove from their leadership positions those who will vote against the death penalty penalty. Those absents during the voting will also suffer the same fate.

Among the region’s representatives, Ting (Labor and Employment), Abad (Government Reorganization) and Cua (Ways and Means) hold committee chairmanships. Ting and Cua voted in favor of the bill while Abad was absent.

Albano, who also voted for the bill, is the Majority Floor Leader of the powerful Commission on Appointments. -Northernforum.net

Load More Related Articles
Load More In Cagayan Valley

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Duterte appoints Isabela Gov. Dy as head of reg’l peace, order council

TUGUEGARAO CITY, Philippines- President Rodrigo Roa Duterte has confirmed the appoinment o…